seeding and downloading in Bittorrent

Reply to topic

veradicere ®

Longevity: 11 years

Post 20-May-2006 21:13

[Quote]

I'm very new to this torrent thing and have little idea about what I'm doing. I have a mac and I'm using Bittorrent (I was using tomato torrent, but decided to try a more commonly used one).
So two problems thus far:
Earlier, I tried downloading a torrent, and it wasn't working (so I thought, based on the fact that it was showing a transfer rate of 0) but when I came back to my computer i saw it successfully downloaded. But with the exception of that one incident (I don't know what I did!) If I try to download a torrent in bittorrent, it shows it as downloading, but there's once again no movement there, no time remaining, a transfer rate of zero. In a word, I'm not downloading anything. I've enabled file sharing, but it still does not seem to be working.
Similarly, I successfully. posted the Earsay interview in the Smiths Video forum. I have no idea how to seed. Once again, I tried to download it, and there's no movement. It shows me as a "Leecher" ...shouldn't it show me as seeding? I'm thoroughly confused. :?
[Profile] [PM]

the Flea

Post 20-May-2006 21:24 (after 11 minutes)

[Quote]

I don't know how MAC's work so can only say what might be causing the problems based on PC's.
If you're firewalled this can stop the transfer from taking place. You should try port-forwarding.
Some clients/trackers can take a while to "kick in" as what seems to have happened to your first download.
The torrent you are trying to seed must be pointing to the exact same place as the files actually are on your hard drive.
[Profile] [PM]

DavidA

Post 21-May-2006 12:35 (after 15 hours)

[Quote]

Hi veradicere,