Uploading/Seeding

Go to page :  1, 2  Next

Reply to topic

mozarr ®

Longevity: 11 years

Post 21-Oct-2007 20:11

[Quote]

Hello - I'm using BitTorrent and I'm still pretty new to all this. I have a question about uploading and seeding.
I downloaded a DVD and when it was done 100%, I left it in the que to upload - I'm assuming that is how you seed, right?
Well, I left it there and it just sat at 0%. It didn't change even when I restarted it and left it there for a long long time hoping something would kick in. I don't understand that. I want to seed and share properly, but I'm not sure what's going on.
I notice that when I download, there's also an upload rate. My thing right now is that a file is downloading, but my upload rate is 0%. I don't get that.
When I was downloading the first DVD, it actually was uploading as well - meaning, it never went to 0%. This is the first time I've seen it at 0% and not moving at all.
Can someone explain all this to me? I even have my max upload rate pushed all the way up to T3. I'm confused.
Thanks for the help!
[Profile] [PM]

mozarr ®

Post 21-Oct-2007 22:37 (after 2 hours 26 minutes)

[Quote]

OH, also - is it possible to download a file while seeding a different file?
[Profile] [PM]

mg196

Longevity: 10 years

Post 22-Oct-2007 03:25 (after 4 hours)

[Quote]

Sometimes, even though you are seeding, some leechers may not be able to grab hold of the torrent. There are a few reasons for it, but it is NOT uncommon.
[Profile] [PM]

mg196

Longevity: 10 years

Post 22-Oct-2007 03:26 (after 38 seconds)

[Quote]

OH, also - is it possible to download a file while seeding a different file?
Absolutely.
[Profile] [PM]

mozarr ®

Post 22-Oct-2007 03:56 (after 30 minutes)

[Quote]

Absolutely.
How do you do that in BitTorrent?
[Profile] [PM]

the Flea

Post 22-Oct-2007 07:43 (after 3 hours)

[Quote]